Awards & Press

Jacaranda Books were named Small Press of the Year at the British Book Awards 2020.
"Jacaranda stood out for its stellar growth and industry-leading efforts to improve diversity in UK publishing." — The Bookseller.

"Jacaranda has held the torch for diversity in publishing for a long time — and long before major publishers finally got on the train... The whole population should be inspired to read its books." 
Judges at the British Book Awards.

Jacaranda Books also won the Inclusivity in Publishing Award at the International Excellence Awards 2019.
"The judges were impressed with Jacaranda and felt that they were an inspiration to some of the other diversity-led imprints that have followed them. The company is run by senior BAME women who themselves are excellent role models"


Creatures of Passage by Morowa Yejidé: Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction.

Pleasantview by Celeste Mohammed: Shortlisted for the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.

Are We Home Yet? by Katy Massey: Longlisted for the Portico Prize.


LOTE by Shola von Reinhold: Winner of the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction; Winner of the Republic of Consciousness Prize

Bad Love by Maame Blue: Winner of the Society of Authors' Betty Trask Award; Shortlisted for the Betty Trask Prize.

Are We Home Yet? by Katy Massey: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize; Distinguished Favourite (Race Relations) at the NYC Big Book Awards.

A Book of Secrets by Kate Morrison: Distinguished Favourite (Historical Fiction) at the NYC Big Book Awards.

If I Don't Have You by Sareeta Domingo: Shortlisted for the Diverse Book Awards.

Ugly Dogs Don't Cry by DD Armstrong: Longlisted for the Diverse Book Awards.

The Street Hawker's Apprentice by Kabir Kareem-Bello: Longlisted for the Diverse Book Awards.



LOTE by Shola von Reinhold: Longlisted for the Not the Booker Prize.

Bad Love by Maame Blue: Longlisted for the Not the Booker Prize.

Living the Dream by Isabelle Dupuy: Longlisted for the Diverse Book Awards.

A Book of Secrets by Kate Morrison: Longlisted for the Diverse Book Awards; Longlisted for the Historical Writers' Association Debut Crown Award.

A Girl Called Eel by Ali Zamir, translated by Aneesa Abbas Higgins: Winner of the Society of Authors' Scott Moncrieff Prize.



Praise Song For The Butterflies by Bernice L. McFadden: Longlisted for the Women's Fiction Prize.

Seven Stones by Venus Khoury-Ghata, translated by Aneesa Abbas Higgins: Shortlisted for the Society of Authors' Scott Moncrieff Prize.

Rest in Power: The Enduring Life of Trayvon Martin by Sybrina Fulton and Tracy Martin: Listed on the Publisher's Association 2019 Summer Reading List for Parliamentarians; Adapted for the critically acclaimed six-part documentary series produced by Jay Z and Paramount Pictures.

A Girl Called Eel by Ali Zamir: Listed in Cosmopolitan’s Books to Read in 2019.



A Girl Called Eel by Ali Zamir: Awarded the English PEN Translates Award Prize.

Radio Sunrise by Anietie Isong: Winner of the Society of Authors' McKitterick Prize; Longlisted for the 9mobile (formerly Etisalat) Prize for Literature.

The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline: Shortlisted for the Sunburst Award.



The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline: Winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award for Young People’s Literature; Winner of the Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature; Shortlisted for the New York Public Library Best Book for Teens.

The Book of Harlan by Bernice L. McFadden: Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Fiction; Winner of the American Book AwardSoon-to-be a motion picture.

Radio Sunrise by Anietie Isong: Shortlisted for the Kingston University Big Read 2017.

Speak Gigantular by Irenosen Okojie: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize; Shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize.



Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila: Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize.

Butterfly Fish by Irenosen Okojie: Winner of the Betty Trask Award.



Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila: Winner of the Etisalat Prize for LiteratureWinner of the PEN Translates Award.



So the Path Does Not Die by Pede Hollist: Winner of the African Literature Association Book of the Year.