Bad Love Wins SoA's a Betty Trask Award!

Bad Love by Maame Blue has been awarded one of the Society of Author's Betty Trask Awards and has been shortlisted for the Betty Trask Prize 2021. 

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are presented for a first novel by a writer under 35. Judged by Sara Collins, Elanor Dymott and Vaseem Khan. We are delighted that Maame was selected, judge Vaseem Khan commended the shortlisted novels for being ‘measured and precise’, ‘erudite and linguistically nimble’, ‘quietly powerful’, and ‘a narrative whose power lasts long after the reading stops’.

The other authors who were shortlisted for the prize are: 

The Last Good Man by Thomas McMullan (Bloomsbury)
The Liar's Dictionary by Eley Williams (William Heinemann, Cornerstone PRH)
The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave (Pan Macmillan, Picador)
The Water House by Nneoma Ike-Njoku (Unpublished)
The Young Team by Graeme Armstrong (Pan Macmillan, Picador)

The winners will be announced online on Wednesday 9 June 2021, in an online ceremony presented by novelist Joanne Harris, sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing & Collecting Society (ALCS).